The Kirk Session is a Court of the Church established by Presbytery and consists of the Ministers and Elders of the Charge, and any other Ministers and Elders appointed by the Presbytery in accordance with the rules of the Church.

Elders are those who have been accepted and appointed into positions of overall leadership and pastoral care within the life of the church.  All give themselves and their time sacrificially for the welfare of the church.  As elders, they seek to uphold, develop and progress corporate life and total ministry of the congregation.  They are those who have a vision of the church alive and growing, bearing witness to God’s life and love in the community.  To that end, they are committed to seeing the church as a whole, and each of us personally, reach our full potential in Christ.

Their role is described in Ephesians 4:

...so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ …. From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.“(v,12,13,16).

In this whole passage Paul is speaking about God’s “people gift,”to the church.  That is a good way of viewing the elders – God’s leadership gift to us for our spiritual growth and prospering.  Their aim is to lead us into a fuller participation in Christ’s life and mission in the world.

Below is a list of the Elders of the South Toowoomba Presbyterian Church.

David Hunt, Session Clerk – is an engineer and has been a member at South Toowoomba since 2000.  He is an experienced lay preacher and Bible study leader.

John Clewett –

Roger Crane

Alen Fagg

Graham Harris – is an extension agronomist with the Queensland Government.  He has been a member of South Toowoomba since shifting here from Biloela in 2001.

Andrew Schache –

Doug Seymour –

Jim Watson –